New York

State-by-State Assessment with Regard to Financial Literacy and Personal Finance Education Actions

State Department of Education Link  
Legislation and Authorization  
Links to State Bills  
Additional Links  
Stand-Alone Personal Finance Standards NO
Personal Finance Standards in Career and Techical Education (CTE), Family and Consumer Sciences NO
Personal Finance Embedded in Social Studies or Economics Standards YES Learning Standards for Social Studies, Standard 4 – Economics, the Enterprise System and Finance Standards 2002, includes Comprehensive personal finance content and curriculum. Includes Jump$tart Coalition Personal Financial Management Guidelines: Income, money management, spending and credit, saving and investing.
Personal Finance Embedded in Mathematics Common Core Standard Minor amount
State Has Adopted Mathematics and English Language Arts Common Core YES
Personal Finance or Financial Literacy Course Required or Offered YES Offered in Consumer Science.
Personal Finance Course Required for Graduation  NO
Personal Finance Content required in Economics or Other Course Required for Graduation   YES New York State requires a 1/2 unit of economics, which includes extensive personal finance content. Personal Finance Education is provided within Learning Standard for Social Studies, Standard 4 - Economics. Economics, the Enterprise System, and Finance is intended to meet the curriculum mandate of the Board of Regents that requires all students to complete a half-unit course of study in economics or its equivalent as part of their four-unit social studies requirement.
Prescribed or Recommended Personal Finance Curriculum  YES State provides standard content, with resources, suggested field trips, etc., in a good outline.
State Requires Economic Reasoning /Thinking Skills  YES Common Core
State Standard Correlated with Jump$tart Financial Literacy Standard YES
State Assessment of Personal Finance Required  NO
Financial Literacy Bills Currently Being Considered by the State Legislature

A.B. 4142 & S.B. 3040 provides that juniors and seniors at secondary schools must take a financial literacy and personal finances course.

A.B. 1505 provides that juniors and seniors at secondary schools and students at the State and City Universities of New York must take a financial literacy course.

Financial Literacy Education Bills Signed by Governor and/or Passed by the House and Senate  NONE
State Appropriations and State Dept Education Funding for K-12 NO 
Established Financial Literacy Month N/A