State-by-State Assessment with Regard to Financial Literacy and Personal Finance Education Actions

State Department of Education Link   
Legislation and Authorization S.B. 359
The bill requires the state Department of Education and the Board of Regents for Higher Education, in consultation with the Department of Banking, to (1) develop a plan to ensure that all students of public high schools, colleges, universities, and community technical colleges receive financial literacy instruction and (2) get any available federal, state, or private funds to implement the plan. They must present the plan to the Banks Committee by January 1, 2013. 
Links to State Bills S.B. 359 
Additional Links  
Stand-Alone Personal Finance Standards NO
Personal Finance Standards in Career and Techical Education (CTE), Family and Consumer Sciences NO
Personal Finance Embedded in Social Studies or Economics Standards NO. The only slightly related topic is minor coverage in the Social Studies Standard of the NCSS Standard Theme 7 of Production, Consultation and Distribution.
Personal Finance Embedded in Mathematics Common Core Standard Minor amount
State Has Adopted Mathematics and English Language Arts Common Core YES
Personal Finance or Financial Literacy Course Required or Offered NO May be offered by local districts in a Career and Life Skills elective.
Personal Finance Course Required for Graduation  NO
Personal Finance Content required in Economics or Other Course Required for Graduation   NO Connecticut does not require economics or personal finance.
Prescribed or Recommended Personal Finance Curriculum  Uses high school Business, Finance and Technology Education Curriculum Framework, somewhat covers Jump$tart content.
State Requires Economic Reasoning /Thinking Skills  YES Included in Common Core Mathematics.
State Standard Correlated with Jump$tart Financial Literacy Standard NO
State Assessment of Personal Finance Required  NO
Financial Literacy Bills Currently Being Considered by the State Legislature S.B. 249, which includes a course on the basics of home mortgage lending and personal debt as part of the public school curriculum.
Financial Literacy Education Bills Signed by Governor and/or Passed by the House and Senate  A bill signed by the Governor in 2009 provides that any Connecticut bank may establish in this state a special need limited branch that provides limited services or is open for limited time periods to participate or assist in a financial education program for high school students where, in connection with the program, deposits are received, checks are paid or money is lent, if: (i) The deposits are received, checks are paid and money is lent on school premises or a facility used by the high school; (ii) the receipt of deposits, paying of checks and lending of money are provided in accordance with the school's policy; (iii) the principal purpose of each program is financial education; and (iv) each program is conducted in a manner that is consistent with safe and sound banking practices, provided the Connecticut bank submits written notice to the commissioner not less than 30 days prior to the date of the establishment of such branch. The notice shall include a detailed description of the program, the location of the high school or facility at which the program will take place and any other information that the commissioner may require.
State Appropriations and State Dept Education Funding for K-12 NO
Established Financial Literacy Month NO